My First Impression Of South Korea

Guwol-dong , Incheon , South Korea

This was one of my most impulsive decisions. In my opinion, I am very calculating and always think a few steps ahead. I don’t like surprises. A plan always keeps my anxiety at bay. I have not been able to follow my plans since I started my 20s. Everything I expected was the exact opposite. As the saying goes, “When you make plans, God laughs.” I struggled with losing control of what I thought was my life plan. Leaving behind this notion of how my life should be took a lot of strength from me. Now that I look back, I understand why everything turned out the way it did. 

Of all the places in the world I would have wanted to move to, South Korea was not on the list. I always wanted to live abroad, and I knew that was part of my 5-year plan. And yet, here I am. I moved to South Korea. I decided to move to Korea about nine months ago. I had only really researched South Korea for about two months. I knew there was a place called South Korea, but if I was asked something about South Korea, I could not answer. I could not answer the question except that there were Korean dramas and BTS. So why on earth would I move to a country whose language I did not even know?

I landed in Incheon, South Korea, on March 18, 2022. Covid regulations were still strictly enforced. Exhausted from an 18-hour flight from Johannesburg, South Africa. Struggling with the seven-hour time difference. I was excited about the new adventure I was about to embark on. Upon arrival, I stood in line to have my documents checked. I was scared because I was in a country where few people spoke English or were at least willing to converse in English. On the way to the immigration office, I prayed that all the hours I had spent watching K-dramas, watching Run BTS episodes, and learning the Korean language would be enough to pass through the immigration office without any problems. However, the number of hours spent saved the day. The immigration process was very simple, to the point, and easy to navigate thanks to the survival Korean I had studied. I would highly recommend anyone visiting or living in Korea. You should take the time to learn some Korean. It will save you a lot of trouble.

After I picked up my luggage and made my way to the arrival gate. As soon as I stepped outside, I quickly realised that I was no longer in South Africa. The temperature was around 0 degrees. Let us just say it was the first rude awakening I experienced. But the excitement helped to lift my spirits. Now it was time to take a 45-minute bus ride to Seoul. I was curious to see what Seoul looked like. Did the pictures do the city justice, or would I be disappointed by the hype surrounding Seoul? 

Monument of King Gojong’s Enthronement

First impressions of Seoul? I was not disappointed. It lived up to my expectations. The land of aesthetics was just that. The skyscrapers that tower over you make you seem tiny in comparison. I saw Koreans heading home as the day came to an end. Street fashion gave me a sudden urge to throw away all my clothes and put on a whole new wardrobe. I felt like a kid in a candy shop. The streets looked exactly like the Pinterest pictures. Seoul seemed to come to life at night. The skyscrapers looked even more striking lit up. Three months later, I still have those feelings about South Korea. Every time I step outside the door, I feel like I have been transported a few years into the future. 

Triple Street, Songdo-dong , Incheon

On my first full day in mandatory quarantine, I woke up to snow. I have never really experienced snow before. It was a picturesque sight, the tall skyscrapers, the snow and the busy streets of Seoul. It felt like a scene from a movie. Seven days later, I was out of quarantine. It was time to return to the real world. I left Seoul and made my way to Incheon. The place I would now call home. When I arrived in Incheon, it was love at first sight, so to speak. It is a mix of the hustle and bustle of a bustling city, but also a mix of a relaxed atmosphere. I now understand wanting the hustle and bustle of Seoul without the hustle and bustle of Seoul. Incheon offers the happy medium. 

The atmosphere is relaxed; everyone minds their own business. This is very impressive when the colour of your skin makes you stand out immediately in the homogeneous country of South Korea. I would describe Incheon as a young and vibrant atmosphere combined with the aesthetics of a young family. The streets of Incheon are lined with small, aesthetically pleasing themed cafes and restaurants. The urgency is in the air as everyone is constantly looking for a bus or a train and jumping out of a cab. The carefully put-together outfits of Koreans. It all adds to the charm of South Korea.

Triple Street, Songdo-dong , Incheon

2 thoughts on “My First Impression Of South Korea”

Leave a comment